Patton Square

Monument en hommage au général S. Patton Jr.
In Ettelbruck, a place of homage to General George S. Patton Jr. has been built. However, this location was not chosen at random: it is located at the edge of the town, where the Americans pushed back the Germans to recapture Ettelbruck.

A monument to General S. Patton Jr.

A monument to General S. Patton Jr.
© Visit Eislek

Inaugurated May 16, 1954, the Patton monument is located in the center of a square in front of the Sûre Bridge. The monument represents General George S. Patton Jr, the commander of the 3rd American Army. He helped to liberate Ettelbruck on December 25, 1944.

A second statue represents a symbol of the United States: the eagle sometimes called the fish eagle. Underneath, a martial sword sinks into the earth and thus symbolizes truce and peace. The monument is oriented towards Germany, also to signify peace.

Statue of the eagle.
© Visit Eislek

The sculpture is the work of Pierre Droessart and Aurelio Sabbatini, two Luxembourg sculptors. Today, the monument is accompanied by a Sherman M4-A1 tank, a work by Earle Freaser.

The Ettelbruck square contains many historical works. In this way, it allows visitors to discover the different links between the general and the city.

Useful information

Address
Avenue J-F Kennedy
9053 Ettelbruck
Country Luxembourg
Telephone 00 352 81 20 68
Email info@ecto.lu
Back to all sites

Patton Square

Monument en hommage au général S. Patton Jr.
À Ettelbruck est construit un lieu d'hommage au général George S.Patton Jr. Un emplacement qui n'a pas été choisi au hasard : il se trouve au bout de la ville, jusqu'où les Américains ont repoussé les Allemands pour récupérer Ettelbruck.

Un monument en hommage au général S. Patton Jr

Monument en hommage au général S. Patton Jr.
© Visit Eislek

Inauguré le 16 mai 1954, le monument Patton vient prendre place au centre du square devant le pont de la Sûre. Le monument représente le général Georges S. Patton Jr, un commandant de la 3e armée américaine. Il a permis de libérer Ettelbruck le 25 décembre 1944.

Une deuxième statue représente l’animal emblème des États-Unis : le pygargue, parfois appelé aigle pêcheur. En dessous, un glaive martial s’enfonce dans la terre et symbolise ainsi la trêve et la paix. Le monument est orienté vers l’Allemagne, pour signifier la paix également.

Statue de la pygargue.
© Visit Eislek

La sculpture est l’œuvre de Pierre Droessart et Aurelio Sabbatini, deux sculpteurs luxembourgeois. Le monument est aujourd’hui accompagné d’un char Sherman M4-A1, une œuvre d’Earle Freaser.

Le square d’Ettelbruck renferme des oeuvres historiques. De cette manière, il permet aux visiteurs de découvrir les liens entre le général et la ville.

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Avenue J-F Kennedy
9053 Ettelbruck
Pays Luxembourg
Téléphone 00 352 81 20 68
Email info@ecto.lu
Retour à tous les sites