Since 1914, the Bierset Air Base has been used for advanced aeronautical purposes. During the Second World War, it was used successively by the Germans and the Allies. In 1950, the base was renovated by the Air Force. As of 1989, the airfield has been open to the public with this museum, located in the northern area of the old base. You’ll have a unique view of the life of the military aviators in Liège.
The museum was initially founded in 1988. The guide, Jean Loncelle, is the administrator of the association and curator of the museum. He was at that time Chief Warrant Officer and responsible for the armament of the 8th Squadron.
In the meantime, the museum has moved twice, first to the De Cubber Barracks, then to the former 3rd Wing Staff Block, located in the northern areas of the former base.
With over 900 members, “The White Bison” Alumni Fraternity takes its name from the animal that served as the mascot for the 26th Squadron and later the 3rd Wing insignia. The “white bison” was chosen because of the current hair color of the senior alumni.
The Museum opens its doors free of charge every Thursday from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm and every first Sunday of the month from 10:00 am to 12:00 pm. It hosts many exhibition rooms on various themes, illustrating the Bierset Base’s history and presenting flight instruments, models, and a flight simulator.
This museum is an absolute gold mine of information for aviation and history enthusiasts, gathering numerous photos, documents, objects, weapons, and instruments.