Saint-Vith

Saint-Vith
St. Vith was almost completely destroyed during the bombing in 1944 and is a martyred town of the Second World War. At that time, the population suffered greatly from the change of nationality.

Border conflicts

Located in the province of Liege, Saint-Vith is today part of the German-speaking community of Belgium. However, between 1815 and 1945, the town was subject to territorial disputes and changed nationality several times.

Following the Congress of Vienna in 1815, St. Vith, formerly part of Luxembourg, became part of the Prussian province of Rhineland. The population speaks German and has a Germanic tradition. At the end of the First World War, the Treaty of Versailles offered the canton to Belgium, to repair the damage suffered by the country. It was then taken over by Nazi Germany within 10 days of the invasion of Belgium in 1940. Finally, Saint-Vith became Belgian again after the Second World War.

Saint-Vith, martyred town

These changes led to many tragic situations, especially during the fighting. Indeed, many families were separated on both sides of the border, forcing brothers or cousins to fight against each other. Conflicts of loyalty were constant, forcing the population to choose between the Belgian country and the German homeland. On 23 December 1944, after several days of fighting, the Germans gained the upper hand and the Americans retreated west of the Salm River. The Allies then bombed Saint-Vith intensively on 25 and 26 December 1944. Almost 600 buildings were destroyed or heavily damaged, i.e. 95% of the town. The total American losses were also very heavy: 12,500 killed, wounded, captured or missing.

In 2004, 60 years after the Ardennes offensive, Saint-Vith was awarded the title of martyrdom town by the Belgian government.

Today, the only remnant of the medieval fortifications of St. Vith that was not destroyed is the Büchel Tower. It was the only building to survive the bombing in 1944. This is why it has since become the symbol of the resistance of Saint-Vith, and more generally, of the Province of Liege.

St. Vith Cemetery, grave of three Russian soldiers.
© Land of Memory
Memorial plaque in Saint-Vith
© Land of Memory

Useful information

Address

4780 Saint-Vith
Country Belgium
Back to all sites

Saint-Vith

Saint-Vith
Presque totalement détruite lors des bombardements en 1944, Saint-Vith est une ville martyre de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. À l'époque, la population y a beaucoup souffert des changements d'allégeance.

Conflits de frontières

Située dans la province de Liège, Saint-Vith fait aujourd’hui partie de la communauté germanophone de la Belgique. Cependant, entre 1815 et 1945, la ville fait l’objet de conflits de territoire, et change plusieurs fois de nationalité.

À la suite du Congrès de Vienne en 1815, Saint-Vith, anciennement luxembourgeoise, est intégrée à la province prusse de Rhénanie. La population parle allemand et est de tradition germanique. À la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale, le traité de Versailles offre le canton à la Belgique, pour réparer les dommages subit par le pays. Ensuite il fut récupéré par l’Allemagne nazie dans les 10 jours suivant l’invasion de la Belgique en 1940. Enfin, Saint-Vith redevient belge à la sortie de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale.

Saint-Vith, ville martyre

Ces changements ont donné lieu à de nombreuses situations tragiques, particulièrement lors des combats. En effet, plusieurs familles furent séparées de part et d’autre de la frontière, obligeant des frères ou des cousins à se battre les uns contre les autres. Les conflits de loyauté étaient constants, forçant la population à choisir entre le pays belge et la patrie allemande. Le 23 décembre 1944, après plusieurs jours de combat, les Allemands prennent le dessus et les Américains battent en retraite à l’ouest de la rivière de la Salm. Les Alliés bombardent alors intensivement Saint-Vith le 25 et 26 décembre 1944. Près de 600 bâtiments sont détruits ou fortement endommagés, c’est-à-dire 95 % de la ville. Les pertes américaines totales sont également très lourdes: 12 500 tués, blessés, capturés ou disparus.

Saint-Vith ne reçoit que 60 ans après l’offensive des Ardennes le titre de ville martyre de la part de l’Etat belge, en 2004.

Aujourd’hui, le seul vestige des fortifications médiévales de Saint-Vith qui n’a pas été détruit est la Tour Büchel. Il s’agit du seul bâtiment à avoir résisté aux bombardements de 1944. C’est pourquoi elle est depuis devenue le symbole de la résistance de Saint-Vith, et plus généralement, du Compté de Liège.

Cimetière de Saint-Vith, tombe de trois soldats russes.
© Land of Memory
Plaque commémorative à Saint-Vith
© Land of Memory

Informations pratiques

Adresse

4780 Saint-Vith
Pays Belgique
Retour à tous les sites