Fort Douaumont

Vue panoramique du Fort de Douaumont.
Fort Douaumont is a relic of the First World War. It is one of the most powerful works and symbols of the Battle of Verdun. More than a flashback, a visit here really plunges us in the heart of a legendary confrontation, and tells us more about those heros who lost their lives there.

Symbol of the Battle of Verdun

Exterior entrance to Fort Douaumont
©Tourisme Grand Verdun

Built between 1884 and 1886, Fort Douaumont was a strategic location of the Battle of Verdun in 1916. Moreover, it is to this battle that it owes its fame. Overlooking the valley southwest of Douaumont at an altitude of almost 400 meters, the fort has been classified as a historical monument since 1970.

Its construction was almost immediately obsolete because of its masonry construction. Indeed, at that time, new shells had the capacity to destroy the masonry structures already. That is why Fort Douaumont was covered with a thick layer of concrete in the most exposed and sensitive areas. Its efficiency and the resistance of its armament made it one of the most sturdy buildings in the entrenched camp of Verdun.

From the beginning of the First World War, the village of Douaumont and its surroundings were put in a state of defense: trenches were dug, barricades were erected, and barbed wire was hung. At first, it managed to defend itself. However, from 1915, the village could no longer hold out. The stabilization of the front line changed the type of combat used.

France’s response

On February 21, 1916, the Germans attacked Verdun. Fort Douaumont was a prime target: it received about 800 shells in two days. In a few days, the front line came dangerously close to the fort. Four days after the beginning of the battle, it was in the hands of the German army. However, the French army fought to recapture the fort for eight months by showering it with shells. Finally, in October 1916, after six days of preparation and a particularly dense artillery deployment, an umpteenth attack succeeded in retaking the fort.

In the Fort Douaumont museum, numerous films, photos, archival documents, and testimonies tell the story of the fort and the heroic soldiers who fought there. It’s a poignant discovery that complements the visit to the fort.

French flags and artillery kept at Fort Douaumont
©Tourisme Grand Verdun

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
Douaumont
55100  DOUAUMONT VAUX
Country France
Telephone 0033 (0)3 55 25 01 16
Back to all sites

Fort de Douaumont

Vue panoramique du Fort de Douaumont.
Le Fort de Douaumont est un vestige de la Première Guerre mondiale. L’un des plus puissants ouvrage et symbole de la Bataille de Verdun. Plus qu’un retour en arrière, la visite de ce lieu nous plonge véritablement au coeur d’un affrontement légendaire, et nous raconte la vie de ceux qui y ont perdu la vie.

Symbole de la Bataille de Verdun

Entrée extérieure du Fort de Douaumont
©Tourisme Grand Verdun


Construit entre 1884 et 1886, le Fort de Douaumont est un haut lieu stratégique de la Bataille de Verdun en 1916. D’ailleurs, c’est à ce combat qu’il doit sa renommée. Dominant la vallée au sud-ouest de Douaumont à presque 400 mètres d’altitude, le fort est classé monument historique depuis 1970.

Sa construction à peine terminée, il est presque immédiatement obsolète à cause de sa construction en maçonnerie. En effet, à ce moment-là, de nouveaux obus ont la capacité de détruire les structures maçonnées. C’est pourquoi le Fort de Douaumont se recouvre d’une épaisse couche de béton aux endroits les plus exposés et sensibles. Son efficacité et la résistance de son armement en font l’un des édifices les plus puissants du camp retranché de Verdun.

Dès le début de la Première Guerre mondiale, le village de Douaumont et ses environs sont mis en état de défense : on creuse des tranchées, on élève des barricades, on accroche des barbelés. Au début, il parvient à se défendre. Toutefois, à partir de 1915, le village ne peut plus tenir. La stabilisation de la ligne de front modifie alors le type de combat.

La riposte de la France

Le 21 février 1916, les Allemands attaquent Verdun. Le fort de Douaumont est une cible privilégiée: il reçoit environ 800 obus en deux jours. En quelques jours, la ligne de front se rapproche dangereusement du fort. Quatre jours après le début de la bataille, il est aux mains de l’armée allemande. Cependant, pendant huit mois, l’armée française se bat pour récupérer le fort en l’arrosant d’obus. Ce n’est qu’en octobre 1916, après 6 jours de préparation et la mise en place d’une artillerie particulièrement dense, qu’une énième attaque réussit à reprendre le fort.

Dans le musée du Fort de Douaumont, de nombreux films, photos, documents d’archives et témoignages racontent l’histoire du fort et des soldats héroïques qui s’y sont battus. Une découverte poignante très complémentaire à la visite du fort.

Drapeaux français et artillerie conservés au Fort de Douaumont
©Tourisme Grand Verdun

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Douaumont
55100  DOUAUMONT VAUX
Pays France
Téléphone 0033 (0)3 55 25 01 16
Retour à tous les sites