Lancaster Memorial

Lancaster Mémorial.
The Lancaster Memorial was built in memory of the fourteen young men who lost their lives in the Lancaster bombers, a British type of bomber.

In Memory of the 14 Young Men of the Lancaster Bombers

Lancaster Memorial.
© Visit Eislek

The memorial was built by a committee of former service members, formed under the leadership of Dr. Delvaux, a former World War II resistance fighter. Their children and the new generations of Weiswampach joined the movement. Together, they built the Lancaster Memorial to preserve the memory of young soldiers who died in various battles.

In the development of this project, we find a memory of one of the most frightening nights ever known in the country and which affects the entire committee. “That night, all the inhabitants stood in front of their houses. They could only anticipate with fear and tears what would happen. In the sky above their heads, horrific scenes of lightning and thunder testified to these aerial battles,” says Dr. Delvaux.

The stories of the soldiers’ memories strike younger generations. Younger generations, having not known the war, have joined forces to carry out this project. Visiting this memorial, one can imagine the pain of the families, the anguish of death and destruction. We feel sympathy for those mothers and wives, waiting for news of the young soldiers.

Thus, one can meditate for a moment near the chapel of this memorial. We feel deep gratitude towards these heroes in a place where the memory of those painful moments of history lives on.

Useful information

Address
Urenerweeg
9972  Weiswampach
Country Luxembourg
Back to all sites

Lancaster Memorial

Lancaster Mémorial.
Le Lancaster Memorial a été construit en mémoire aux quatorze jeunes hommes ayant perdu la vie dans les bombardiers Lancaster, un modèle de bombardier de l'armée britannique.

À la mémoire des 14 jeunes militaires des bombardiers Lancaster

Lancaster Mémorial.
© Visit Eislek

Le mémorial a été construit par un comité d’anciens militaires, créé sous l’impulsion du docteur Delvaux, un ancien résistant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Leurs enfants et les nouvelles générations de Weiswampach se joignent au mouvement. Ensemble, ils construisent le Lancaster Memorial pour conserver le souvenir de jeunes soldats morts lors de différents combats.

Dans l’élaboration de ce projet, nous retrouvons un souvenir. Celui de l’une des nuits les plus effrayantes jamais connues dans le pays et qui touche l’ensemble du comité. « Cette nuit-là, tous les habitants se tenaient devant leurs maisons. Ils ne pouvaient qu’anticiper avec peur et larmes ce qui allait se passer. Dans le ciel au-dessus de leurs têtes, d’horribles scènes d’éclairs et de tonnerres témoignent de ces combats aériens », raconte le Dr Delvaux.

Les récits des mémoires des soldats frappent les plus jeunes générations. Ces générations, n’ayant pas connu la guerre, unissent alors leurs forces pour mener à bien ce projet. Devant ce mémorial, on s’imagine la douleur des familles, l’angoisse de la mort et de la destruction. L’attente perpétuelle des jeunes militaires ronge les mères et épouses de l’époque.

Ainsi, on peut se recueillir un moment près de la chapelle de ce mémorial. S’exprime alors une profonde gratitude envers ces héros dans un endroit où la mémoire de ces durs instants de l’histoire perdure.

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Urenerweeg
9972  Weiswampach
Pays Luxembourg
Site internet https://www.lancaster.lu
Retour à tous les sites