Manhay History 44 Museum

Entrée du Manhay History 44 Museum.
Impressive, full-scale re-enactments tell the story of the Battle of the Bulge on the Northern Front, especially the Battle of the Crossroads fought in the vicinity of Manhay against the terrifying Waffen SS from December 23, 1944, to early January 1945.

From the beaches of Normandy to the Northern Front of the Battle of the Bulge

This brand new private museum, located near a powerful German Panther tank, emphasizes the fighting around Manhay.

Objects of inhabitants of the village
© Land of Memory

Here, one benefits from the welcome of the owner of the museum, who comments on his collections, which are particularly rich in rare uniforms. Pieces deposited by the inhabitants of the village increase the interest of this museum which in this way becomes part of the local history. One can, for example, discover the complete equipment of American or German veterans who fought in Manhay or objects deposited by locals to animate the intergenerational reflection.

Along a path lined with scenes of exceptional realism, we discover the challenging existence of soldiers and civilians thrown into the turmoil.

Realistic staging
© Land of Memory
Museum decor
© Land of Memory

In this museum, we plunge into history in the midst of settings similar to those made for the cinema. The tragedy of the war is also shown through authentic documents, like projections of a propaganda film of the time.

At the end of the tour, there is a store rich in souvenirs, historical works, but also authentic objects will delight the amateurs.

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
Voie Habotte, 2
6960 Manhay
Country Belgium
Telephone 00 32 (0) 86 43 46 71
Back to all sites

Manhay History 44 Museum

Entrée du Manhay History 44 Museum.
Des reconstitutions impressionnantes et à échelle réelle racontent la Bataille des Ardennes sur le front Nord, et plus particulièrement la Bataille des Carrefours menée dans les environs de Manhay contre la terrifiante Waffen SS, du 23 décembre 1944 au début janvier 1945.

Des plages de Normandie au front Nord de la Bataille des Ardennes

Le tout nouveau musée privé est situé à proximité d’un puissant char Panther allemand. Il met particulièrement l’accent sur les combats menés autour de Manhay.

Objets d'habitants du village.
© Land of Memory

Ici, on bénéficie de l’accueil du propriétaire des lieux, qui commente ses collections particulièrement riches en uniformes rares. Des pièces déposées par des habitants du village augmentent encore l’intérêt de ce musée. Ce cette manière, il s’intègre dans l’histoire locale. On peut par exemple y découvrir, des équipements complets de vétérans américains ou allemands qui ont combattu à Manhay ou encore des objets déposés par des autochtones pour animer la réflexion intergénérationnelle.

Le long d’un parcours jalonné de mises en scène d’un réalisme bluffant, on découvre l’existence difficile de soldats et de civils précipités dans la tourmente.

Mise en scène réaliste.
© Land of Memory
Décor du musée.
© Land of Memory

Dans ce musée, on plonge dans l’histoire au milieu de décors proches de ceux réalisés pour le cinéma. La tragédie de la guerre est aussi montrée par le biais de documents authentiques : la projection d’un film de propagande d’époque réalisé sur les lieux.

À l’issue du parcours, une boutique riche en souvenirs, en ouvrages historiques, mais aussi en objets authentiques ravira les amateurs.

Quelques itinéraires touristiques en lien avec ce site

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Voie Habotte, 2
6960 Manhay
Pays Belgique
Téléphone 00 32 (0) 86 43 46 71
Site internet http://www.mhm44.be
Retour à tous les sites