Baugnez 44 Historical Museum

Baugnez 44 Historical Museum.
Unique exhibits, unpublished anecdotes, and 15 reconstructions of daily military scenes of breathtaking realism enhanced by sound and light! The Baugnez 44 Historical Museum will plunge you directly into the heart of the Battle of the Bulge.

Back to the heart of the winter of 1944

On December 16, 1944, the tragic Battle of the Bulge began. Hitler decided to launch a surprise counter-offensive with all his troops. It was intended to seize the port city of Antwerp, which was not yet under German control.

On the same day, an American artillery battalion moved towards the Baugnez crossroads towards a German vanguard. A violent confrontation between the two sides ensued, along with the massacre of 84 American prisoners.

Breathtaking Realism

It is from this tragic historical legacy that this unique museum was born. Opened in 2007, the Baugnez 44 Historical Museum is considered one of the most beautiful museums of the Battle of the Bulge.

The different significant operations are explained, 16 scenes are reconstructed, and 120 display cases are presented. Several unique items are on display, some of which are related to the massacre. In addition, a 25-minute archive film is shown. Two sound and light rooms will take you to the heart of the winter of 1944. It promises its visitors a real immersive journey back to the heart of the Battle of the Bulge thanks to an audio guide visit, available in four languages (French, English, Dutch, and German). This museum is a unique and unforgettable experience, not to be missed!

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
Route de Luxembourg, 10
4960 Malmedy
Country Belgium
Telephone 00 32 (0)80 44 04 82
Back to all sites

Baugnez 44 Historical Museum

Baugnez 44 Historical Museum.
Des pièces uniques, des anecdotes inédites et 15 reconstitutions de scènes quotidiennes militaires d'un réalisme époustouflant agrémenté de son et lumière... le Baugnez 44 Historical Museum vous plonge au coeur de la Bataille des Ardennes.

Retour au coeur de l’hiver 1944

Le 16 décembre 1944, la tragique Bataille des Ardennes débute. Hitler décide de lancer l’ensemble de ses troupes dans une contre-offensive surprise. Elle est destinée à s’emparer du port d’Anvers, pas encore sous contrôle allemand.

Le même jour, un bataillon d’artillerie américain se dirige vers le carrefour de Baugnez en même temps qu’une avant-garde allemande. S’ensuit un violent affrontement entre les deux camps, et le massacre de 84 prisonniers américains.

Un réalisme époustouflant

Le musée unique en son genre naît de cet héritage historique tragique. Ouvert en 2007, il est considéré comme l’un des plus beaux musées de la Bataille des Ardennes.

Les différentes grandes opérations y sont expliquées, 15 scènes y sont reconstituées, et 120 vitrines sont présentées. On y expose plusieurs pièces uniques au monde, dont certaines en relation avec le massacre. Un film d’archives inédit de 25 minutes y est projeté. Enfin, deux espaces son et lumière vous plongeront au coeur de l’hiver 1944. Il promet à ses visiteurs un vrai retour en arrière immersif au coeur de la Bataille des Ardennes grâce à une visite par audioguides en quatre langues (français, anglais, néerlandais et allemand). Une expérience unique et inoubliable, à ne pas manquer!

Quelques itinéraires touristiques en lien avec ce site

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Route de Luxembourg, 10
4960 Malmedy
Pays Belgique
Téléphone 00 32 (0)80 44 04 82
Retour à tous les sites