Fort Battice

Vue sur le fort de Battice.
Fort Battice and its exceptional collection of period artillery equipment are a must-see on the Belgian remembrance tourism route. Life-size demonstrations along with a guided tour of about three kilometers above and inside the fort await you.

An impressive array of weapons

The entrance to Fort Battice.
© René Coune

Fort Battice was built between 1934 and 1937, 17 kilometers from the German border. It consists of 15 combat buildings connected by three kilometers of underground galleries. Its also home to five long-range artillery buildings. Thanks to an array of special equipment, the fort resisted a twelve-day siege by the Germans during the Second World War.

Until then, the fort was relatively unaffected by the conflict. However, on May 21, 1940, it experienced its darkest hour when a 250-kilogram bomb unluckily penetrated a combat block, killing about thirty soldiers of the garrison on duty at the time of the explosion.

Une des coupoles du fort de Lantin
Une des coupoles du fort de Lantin
Undergrounds of the fort.
© René Coune

Following this catastrophe, the commander surrendered, and the German army took possession of the site until July 1944. Then, they converted the fort into a test center for weapons of destruction.

During the visit, you will see a demonstration of a two-gun turret. You can also see the pictorial frescoes of the underground barracks, a period generator in perfect condition, a firing casemate for a 60 mm gun, and a fully restored machine gun.

A visit of Fort Battice can be arranged upon request and lasts approximately 2h30. Don’t forget your walking shoes and bring warm clothes!

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
Rue d'Aubel
4651 Herve
Country Belgium
Telephone 00 32 (0)4 97 20 77 82
Back to all sites

Fort de Battice

Vue sur le fort de Battice.
Le fort et son exceptionnelle collection d’équipements d’artillerie d’époque sont un passage obligé sur la route du tourisme de mémoire en Belgique. Démonstrations grandeur nature tout au long d’un parcours guidé d’environ trois kilomètres au-dessus et à l’intérieur du fort vous y attendent.

Un armement impressionnant

L'entrée du fort de Battice.
© René Coune

Le fort de Battice est construit entre 1934 et 1937, à 17 kilomètres de la frontière allemande. Il est composé de 15 bâtiments de combat reliés par trois kilomètres de galeries souterraines. Il accueille également cinq édifices destinés à l’artillerie longue portée. C’est sûrement cet attirail impressionnant qui permit au fort de résister, durant un siège de 12 jours, aux bombardements des Allemands lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Jusque là, le fort était relativement préservé du conflit. Mais le 21 mai 1940, il connaît ses plus sombres heures lorsqu’une bombe de 250 kilos pénètre par malheur dans un bloc de combat, tuant une trentaine des soldats de la garnison en poste au moment de l’explosion.

Coupoles du fort.
© René Coune
Souterrains du fort.
© René Coune

À la suite de cette catastrophe, le commandant se rend et l’armée allemande prend possession des lieux jusqu’en juillet 1944. Elle convertit le fort en centre d’essai d’armes de destruction.

Lors de sa visite, on assiste à la démonstration d’une tourette à deux canons. On découvre aussi les fresques picturales du casernement souterrain, un groupe électrogène d’époque en parfait état, une casemate de tir pour canon de 60 mm ou encore une mitrailleuse totalement restaurée.

La visite du fort de Battice se fait sur demande et dure environ 2h30. Nous vous conseillons de venir avec des chaussures de marche et des vêtements chauds!

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Rue d'Aubel
4651 Herve
Pays Belgique
Téléphone 00 32 (0)4 97 20 77 82
Retour à tous les sites