Fort Embourg

An authentic relic of the history and culture of Liège, Fort Embourg was spared from destruction during the two world wars. Today it stands to transport us into the heart of a heritage full of history and emotion.

A fort preserved from the two wars

Interior of the Fort Embourg Museum.
© C. Licherte

Fort Embourg was built between 1888 and 1892 under the orders of General Brialmont. The latter was also the initiator of the 12 other forts making up the Fortified Position of Liege (P.F.L.). This fort differs from the surrounding forts due to its rectangular shape and location. Fort Embourg overlooks the valleys of Ourthe and Vesdre.

During the First World War, Fort Embourg, like the rest of the P.F.L., was the target of heavy German bombing. Following an aggressive assault and bombardments, which lasted for 30 hours between 12 and 13 August 1914, the fort was captured. Thus, it remained occupied by the Germans during the rest of the conflict.

During the inter-war period, the fort benefited from a few upgrades. Still, these could not prevent it from being the first defensive fort in Liège to give up its arms on 17 May 1940 during the Battle of Belgium due to fears of general asphyxiation after endless bombardments.

In 1946, the fort was acquired by a commemorative association that created a museum. Finally, in 1973, the fort was made home to a unique museum with an unprecedented collection of weapons, costumes, and equipment: a gold mine for enthusiasts!

Guided tours are given by history enthusiasts who enjoy sharing all their knowledge. They also share authentic accounts and precise explanations to bring history to life.

Collection of weapons from Fort Embourg.
Helmet at Fort Embourg.

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
Rue du Fort
4053 Chaudfontaine
Country Belgium
Telephone 00 32 4 97 20 35 70
Back to all sites

Fort d’Embourg

Default 2000 x 600
Véritable vestige de l’histoire et de la culture liégeoise, le fort d’Embourg a été préservé des deux guerres. Il nous plonge au coeur d’un héritage chargé d’histoire et d’émotion.

Un fort préservé des deux guerres

Intérieur du musée du fort d'Embourg.
© C. Licherte

Le Fort d’Embourg fut construit entre 1888 et 1892 sous les ordres du Général Brialmont. Ce dernier est également à l’initiative des 12 autres forts composant la Position Fortifiée de Liège (P.F.L.), pour laquelle il a dessiné un plan en étoile par rapport à la ville. Celui-ci diffère des autres forts par sa forme rectangulaire et sa position plus en altitude. En effet il surplombe les vallées de l’Ourthe et de la Vesdre.

Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, le Fort d’Embourg est la cible d’importants bombardements allemands, comme le reste de la P.F.L. À la suite d’un énième assaut et de bombardements ininterrompus durant 30 heures entre le 12 et le 13 août 1914, le camp ennemi prend le fort. Ainsi, il demeure occupé par les Allemands pendant le reste du conflit.

Au cours de l’Entre-deux-guerres, le fort bénéfice de quelques arrangements. Malgré ça, il est le premier fort de défense liégeois à rendre les armes le 17 mai 1940 lors de la bataille de Belgique. Il se rend par peur d’une asphyxie générale après d’interminables bombardements.

Dès 1946, le fort est acquis par une association commémorative qui y crée un musée. Enfin en 1973, il accueille un musée unique en son genre, composé d’une collection inédite d’armes, costumes et équipements : une mine d’or pour les passionnés!

Des passionnés réalisent aujourd’hui des visites guidées du Fort d’Embourg. Grâce à leurs connaissances précises et leurs récits authentiques, ils rendent l’excursion fascinante!

Collection d'armes du fort d'Embourg.
Casque au fort d'Embourg.

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Rue du Fort
4053 Chaudfontaine
Pays Belgique
Téléphone 00 32 4 97 20 35 70
Retour à tous les sites