Fort Aubin-Neufchâteau

Le fort d
Fort Aubin-Neufchâteau is the only place in the world where you can see the remains of Röchling grenades. In this unique fort, you can learn more about the German army's secret weapons tests during the Second World War.

A fort full of history and emotion

Panoramic view on the fort of Aubin-Neufchâteau.

Fort Aubin-Neufchâteau is one of the 16 forts of the fortified belt of Liège intended to protect the city from possible enemy assaults. This fort is located in Dalhem, about 20 km north-east of Liege.

During the Second World War, it played a crucial role. After the fall of Fort Ében-Émael, it protected the forts of Battice and Barchon. For eleven days, the garrison of Fort Aubin-Neufchâteau managed to block the 2000 German soldiers beyond its walls. During this period, they were bombarded by artillery and aircraft, followed by 23 infantry assaults. Finally, asphyxiated and short of ammunition, the fort was taken by force on the twelfth day.

In 1942, the fort was used for testing secret German weapons. Among these was the famous Röchling shell. It is a shell tragically known for its impressive size (two meters), capable of piercing 4.50 meters.

Now open to visitors, the fort and museum commemorate the soldiers who died in battle. You can explore the sinuous galleries of the fort, discover the key locations in the fort, and learn a lot about the secret weapons tests carried out there by the Germans.

Period tank at the fort of Aubin-Neufchâteau.
© Patrick Brion

The fort’s museum, located on the second floor of the municipal school, also exhibits an impressive collection of objects that bear witness to the life of the fort’s garrison. The museum continues to add to this collection to complete the history of the building. Go back in time and immerse yourself in the life of the fort by visiting Fort Aubin-Neufchâteau and its museum.

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
Rue du Colonel d'Ardenne, 4
4608 Dalhem
Country Belgium
Back to all sites

Fort d’Aubin-Neufchâteau

Le fort d
Le fort d'Aubin-Neufchâteau est le seul endroit au monde où voir les restes de grenades Röchling. Un fort unique, où en apprendre plus sur les essais d’armes secrètes effectués par l’armée allemande au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Un ouvrage empreint d’histoire et d’émotion

Vue panoramique sur le fort d'Aubin-Neufchâteau.

Le fort d’Aubin-Neufchâteau fait partie des 16 forts de la ceinture fortifiée de Liège destinés à protéger la ville des assauts ennemis. Ce fort est situé à Dalhem, à une vingtaine de kilomètres au nord-est de Liège.

Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il joue un rôle crucial. Après la chute du fort d’Ében-Émael, il protège les forts de Battice et de Barchon. Durant onze jours, la garnison du fort d’Aubin-Neufchâteau parvient à bloquer les 2000 soldats allemands devant ses murs. À cette période, ils subissent des bombardements d’artillerie et d’aviation suivis par 23 assauts d’infanteries. Asphyxié et à court de munitions, le fort est pris de force le douzième jour.

En 1942, le fort héberge des essais d’armes secrètes allemandes. Parmi celles-ci, figure le fameux obus Röchling. Il s’agit d’un obus tragiquement connu pour sa taille impressionnante (deux mètres), capable de percer 4,50 mètres de béton armé.

Aujourd’hui, il est possible de visiter le fort d’Aubin-Neufchâteau. Le lieu et un musée perpétuent la mémoire des soldats décédés au combat. On y explore les galeries sinueuses du fort. On découvre les lieux clefs de cet ouvrage empreint d’histoire et d’émotion et on en apprend beaucoup sur les essais d’armes secrètes qui y ont été faits par les Allemands.

Char d'époque au fort d'Aubin-Neufchâteau.
© Patrick Brion

Installé au premier étage de l’école communale, le musée du fort expose aussi une impressionnante collection d’objets qui témoignent de la vie de la garnison du fort. Une collection que le musée continue d’enrichir pour compléter l’histoire de l’édifice. Remontez le temps et imprégnez-vous de la vie de fort en visitant le fort d’Aubin-Neufchâteau et son musée.

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Rue du Colonel d'Ardenne, 4
4608 Dalhem
Pays Belgique
Retour à tous les sites