Fort Eben-Emael

L
Fort Eben-Emael, nicknamed the "Giant of all Forts," was once one of the most critical fortifications in Europe. Below the fort is an underground labyrinth in which to immerse yourself in the secret life of the fort. You can also learn about the Germans' innovative plans for capturing the fort, which marked Belgium's entry into the Second World War.

The “Giant of all Forts”

The entrance to Fort Eben-Emael.

The spectacular Eben-Emael Fort is located on the west bank of the Albert Canal, about ten kilometers from Maastricht. Built between 1932 and 1935 to strengthen the Belgian defense against Germany, it was considered impregnable for a long time. But on May 10, 1940, it was taken by an elite troop of German paratroopers and became the marker of Belgium’s entry into the war. Thus, it is an absolute must-see site on the route of remembrance tourism in Europe.

The fort is a colossal underground complex that extends over three levels and five kilometers of underground galleries. Its 17 surface works spread over 75 hectares constitute the centerpiece of the fortified belt of Liege. Similar to forts constructed by the French in the 16th century, Eben-Emael was built in the shape of a pentagon and is surrounded by an impressive array of fortifications against armored attacks.

The fort was also equipped with special filters for the ventilation of combat gases. However, while it was the largest fort ever built at the time, its roof proved to be its main weakness, as it was poorly defended, unlike the rest of the building.

Today, the Eben-Emael Fort houses a museum installed in the former storage rooms. It tells the fascinating story of the capture of the fortress by the Germans, their equipment, and the German’s secret weapon. Indeed, the explosion in the network of galleries shows the terrible impact of this new weapon.

Since 2008, the fortress has also been home to one of the world’s last three DFS 230 assault gliders. This was the actual glider used during the capture of the fort on May 10, 1940, representing the first airborne attack in history.

Discover the fort during a thematic visit

The fort offers different themed tours that allow visitors to explore the defense bunkers and artillery cupolas to discover more secrets. You can learn how the gliders were used, visit the structure’s defense blocks or the network of underground galleries by flashlight: thrills guaranteed!

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
Rue du Fort, 40
4690 Bassengue
Country Belgium
Telephone 00 32 (0)4 286 28 61
Back to all sites

Fort Eben-Emael

L
Le fort Eben-Emael, surnommé le "Géant des forts", est l’une des plus importantes fortifications en Europe. Un labyrinthe souterrain au sein duquel plonger dans les plans innovants de la prise du fort par les Allemands, qui marqua l’entrée de la Belgique dans la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Le « Géant des forts »

L'entrée du fort d'Eben-Emael.

Le spectaculaire Fort d’Eben-Emael se situe sur la rive ouest du canal Albert, à une dizaine de kilomètres de Maastricht. Construit entre 1932 et 1935 pour solidifier la défense belge face à l’Allemagne, il est longtemps considéré comme imprenable. Mais le 10 mai 1940, une troupe d’élite de parachutistes allemands prend le fort. Il devient alors le marqueur de l’entrée en guerre de la Belgique. Ainsi, il s’agit d’un site absolument incontournable sur la route du tourisme de mémoire en Europe.

Le fort est un complexe souterrain colossal qui s’étend sur trois niveaux et cinq kilomètres de galeries souterraines. Les 17 ouvrages en surface étalés sur 75 hectares constituent la pièce maîtresse de la ceinture fortifiée de Liège. À l’image des constructions françaises du 16e siècle, il a été construit en forme de pentagone, et est entouré d’un impressionnant attirail de protection contre les attaques de blindés. Aussi, des filtres spéciaux pour l’aération des gaz de combat équipent le fort.

Si à l’époque il est le plus grand fort jamais construit, son toit était sa principale faiblesse. En effet il était très peu défendu contrairement au reste de l’édifice.

Aujourd’hui, le fort Eben-Emael héberge un musée, installé dans les anciens locaux de réserves. On y découvre l’histoire passionnante de la prise de la forteresse par les Allemands, leurs équipements et la manière d’employer la charge creuse, l’arme secrète allemande. L’explosion au sein du réseau de galeries rend compte de l’impact terrible de cette nouvelle arme à l’époque.

Depuis 2008, la forteresse accueille également l’un des trois derniers planeurs d’assaut DFS 230 du monde. Utilisé lors de la prise du fort le 10 mai 1940, il représente la première attaque aérotransportée de l’Histoire.

Découverte du fort pendant une visite thématique

Pour découvrir les secrets de cet édifice, le fort propose différentes visites à thème. Elles permettent aux visiteurs d’explorer les bunkers de défense et de coupoles d’artillerie. On y découvre les rouages de l’arrivée des planeurs sur la superstructure militaire, et on peut y visiter les blocs de défense de la structure et le réseau de galeries souterraines à la lampe de poche: frissons garantis!

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Rue du Fort, 40
4690 Bassengue
Pays Belgique
Téléphone 00 32 (0)4 286 28 61
Retour à tous les sites