Fort Troyon

Default 2000 x 600
The resistance of Fort Troyon is legendary and was extremely important. Indeed, it prevented the German troops from encircling Verdun from the south during the Battle of the Marne. It's a magnificent stone fort whose role during the First World War was crucial.

The legendary resistance

Fort Troyon was built at the end of the 19th century, between Lacroix sur Meuse and Troyon. This exceptional building was constructed in Séré de Rivières cut stone. The fort resisted victoriously massive assaults of the German bombs in September 1914.

The enemy troops thus failed to encircle Verdun. In addition, the fort’s resistance helped protect French soldiers in the Battle of the Marne on the eastern flank.

It was the only fort on the Verdun-Toul line (65 km long) that never fell to the Germans when attacked. Instead, 450 men held out for more than six days against enemy artillery and a 10,000-strong division of the 5th Army.

Entrance of Fort Troyon.

In 1918, Fort Troyon served as a rear hospital for the American troops who liberated Saint-Mihiel (occupied for four years) and the Montsec Butte.

Today, the traces of the bombardments of September 1914 are still visible. They testify to the violence of the fighting. Forgotten for 80 years, the fort has regained its prestige thanks to the motivation of many volunteers. They have worked to keep the memory of the sacrifice of their ancestors alive.

The fort is listed as a historical monument by a decree dated November 2, 1994. Fort Troyon is open to visitors under certain conditions; contact for more information.

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
D964
55300 Troyon
Country France
Telephone 0033 (0)7 89 84 64 08

And more information...

Back to all sites

Fort de Troyon

Default 2000 x 600
Sortie victorieuse d’un siège et des bombardements massifs par l’armée allemande, la résistance du Fort de Troyon est légendaire, et a eu une importance capitale. En effet, cela a empêché les troupes allemandes d'encercler Verdun par le Sud lors de la bataille de la Marne. Un magnifique fort en pierres de taille dont le rôle durant la Première Guerre mondiale est prépondérant.

La résistance légendaire

Le fort Troyon est construit à la fin du 19e siècle, entre Lacroix sur Meuse et Troyon. Cette bâtisse exceptionnelle fut bâtie en pierres de taille de type Séré de Rivières. Le fort résista victorieusement à l’assaut massif des bombes allemandes en septembre 1914.

Les troupes ennemies échouèrent ainsi à encercler Verdun. Par ailleurs, la résistance du fort a permis de protéger les soldats français de la bataille de la Marne aux arrières du flanc est.

C’est le seul fort de la ligne Verdun-Toul (orthodromie 65 km) qui, attaqué, n’est jamais tombé aux mains des Allemands. 450 hommes ont tenu pendant plus de six jours contre l’artillerie ennemie et une division de la 5e armée, forte de 10 000 hommes.

Entrée du Fort de Troyon

En 1918, le fort de Troyon a servi d’hôpital arrière pour les troupes américaines qui libéraient Saint-Mihiel (occupé pendant 4 ans) et la butte de Montsec.

Aujourd’hui, les traces des bombardements de septembre 1914 sont toujours visibles. Elles témoignent de la violence des combats. Tombé dans l’oubli pendant 80 ans, le fort a retrouvé son prestige grâce à la motivation de nombreux bénévoles. Ceux-ci ont oeuvré pour garder en mémoire le sacrifice de leurs anciens.

Le fort est inscrit aux monuments historiques par un arrêté du 2 novembre 1994. Le fort de Troyon est ouvert à la visite sous certaines conditions.

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
D964
55300 Troyon
Pays France
Téléphone 0033 (0)7 89 84 64 08

Et plus d'informations...

Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous sur le site officiel !

Retour à tous les sites