Remember Museum 39-45

Le Remember Museum 39-45 à Thimister-Clermont.
Marcel's childhood and life were forever changed during World War II. So with the help of his wife Mathilde, he created the Remember Museum 39-45 in his parents' old farmhouse. He used his own memories and objects left behind by the soldiers who stayed at the farmhouse during the war. As a result, Marcel maintains contact with many American veterans.

A child’s vibrant memory

Collection of the Remember Museum 39-45
© C. Lichterte

Marcel Schmetz was only seven years old when the Second World War broke out. The Germans invaded his village, Thimister-Clermont. For four years, young Marcel was deprived of all freedom. Four long years later, on September 11, 1944, Clermont was finally liberated. The family farm, where Marcel lived, was transformed into a large bivouac, which housed 110 soldiers of the 1st American division. During the Ardennes offensive, the G.I.s left the farm, leaving behind many objects.

In 1991, Marcel met Mathilde, and together, they decided to transform the farm into a museum. One of the 1st American Infantry Division veterans, Bennie Zuskin, inaugurated it on June 12, 1994, accompanied by 17 other veterans who came from Normandy for the inauguration.

Today, it exhibits many items left behind by the soldiers of the 1st U.S. Infantry Division and memorabilia donated by the veterans. One hundred mannequins, clothing, flags, etc., are assembled in the museum- and each item is linked to someone and tells us a personal story. Mathilde and Marcel are still in touch with hundreds of American families. The Americans who come to visit them call them “M & M’.”

One of the incredible novelties of the museum are the Q.R. codes. Today, they allow the museum to offer personalized guided tours adapted to your desires, timing, and language. About 300 subjects are covered, for a total duration of 4 hours for the most emotionally demanding. In addition, they are translated into five languages (French, Dutch, German, English, and Walloon).

The museum’s goal is to show gratitude towards all the American soldiers who fought to give back to the inhabitants their freedom. In this museum, there is no question of any value judgment, simply to remember!

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
Les Béolles, 4.
4890 Thimister-Clermont
Country Belgium
Telephone 00 32 (0)87 44 61 81
Back to all sites

Remember Museum 39-45

Le Remember Museum 39-45 à Thimister-Clermont.
Un véritable lieu de mémoire, transformé par Marcel qui a vécu la guerre étant enfant. Avec l'aide de son épouse Mathilde, Il a créé ce musée dans la ferme de ses parents à partir de ses souvenirs, de ceux laissés par les soldats qui y ont habité et de ses nombreux contacts avec les survivants américains.

Le souvenir vibrant d’un enfant et un musée d’objets personnels

Collection du remember museum 39-45.
© C. Lichterte

Marcel Schmetz n’a que sept ans lorsque de la Seconde Guerre mondiale éclate. Les Allemands envahissent son village, Thimister-Clermont. Pendant quatre ans, le jeune Marcel est ainsi privé de toute liberté. Quatre longues années plus tard, le 11 septembre 1944, Clermont est enfin libéré. La ferme familiale, dans lequel vivait Marcel, est alors transformée en un grand bivouac, qui logeait 110 soldats de la 1re division américaine. Pendant l’offensive des Ardennes, les G.I.s quitte la ferme en laissant derrière eux de nombreux objets.

En 1991, Marcel rencontre Mathilde. À deux, ils décident de transformer la ferme en un musée qui rend hommage aux américains. Un des vétérans de la 1re Division d’infanterie américaine, Bennie Zuskin, l’inaugura le 12 juin 1994, accompagné de 17 autres vétérans qui ont fait le voyage de Normandie pour l’inauguration.

Il expose aujourd’hui de nombreux objets abandonnés par les soldats de la 1e Division d’Infanterie américaine ainsi que de souvenirs que les vétérans leur ont offerts. Une centaine de mannequins, des vêtements, drapeaux… chacun lié à quelqu’un, ils racontent tous une histoire personnelle. Mathilde et Marcel sont toujours en relation avec des centaines de famille américaines. Tous les Américains qui viennent leur rendre visite les surnomment « M & M’s ».

Une des grandes nouveautés du musée sont les QR codes. Aujourd’hui, ils permettent au musée de proposer des visites guidées personnalisées, adaptées aux envies, au timing et à la langue. On y aborde plus de 300 sujets, pour une durée totale de quatre heures pour les plus gourmands d’émotion, traduits en cinq langues (français, néerlandais, allemand, anglais et wallon).

Le musée se veut être le témoin de la reconnaissance envers tous les soldats américains qui ont combattu pour rendre aux habitants leur liberté. Dans ce musée, il n’est question d’aucun jugement de valeur, simplement de se souvenir, « Remember »!

Quelques itinéraires touristiques en lien avec ce site

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Les Béolles, 4.
4890 Thimister-Clermont
Pays Belgique
Téléphone 00 32 (0)87 44 61 81
Retour à tous les sites