Fort Lantin

L
Discover what life was like for the garrison of Fort Lantin through an original show or an unforgettable night in an authentic troop room. Fort Lantin is the only fort in the fortified belt of Liege that has not been modified since 1914.

A historically remarkable place, a surprising visit with the possibility of sleeping on site.

One of the domes of Fort Lantin.
© Province de Liège

Located seven kilometers northwest of downtown Liege, the Fort Lantin is one of the smallest forts of the Liege fortified belt.

Built at the end of the 19th century under the orders of General Brialmont, its historical and cultural heritage is remarkable. Moreover, contrary to what was done in France at the time, it was entirely built in concrete (not reinforced), a material that was rarely used.

During the First World War, Fort Lantin was one of the last forts to fall under the German bombardments on August 15, 1914.

After that, the fort did not undergo any work. However, the military architecture of the 19th century remains intact, which has allowed for further archaeological research on this period.

Reconstruction at Fort Lantin.
© Province de Liège

The Friends of Lantin Fort

The alley of Fort Lantin.
© Province de Liège

Converted into a maneuvering ground and shooting range during the Second World War, it was then left abandoned. In 1983, it was acquired and restored by the ASBL “Les Amis du fort de Lantin,” who set up a system of visits with an audioguide in four languages. If you wish, you can also benefit from a personalized visit by a volunteer guide.

The fort association has restored and fitted out two troop rooms where the soldiers stayed in 1914. In this way, the most daring visitors will be able to spend an unforgettable night in the living conditions of the garrison of the time.

Another exciting feature is the Museum of Communication, which retraces the history of communication in the fort over the years. See a reconstruction of the first telephone line and the last talking clock in Belgium! You can also combine your visit to the fort with a visit to Fort Loncin, a must-see addition.

Discovering other topics

Useful information

Address
Rue de Villers, 1
4450 Uprelle
Country Belgium
Telephone 00 32 (0)4 246 55 44
Back to all sites

Fort de Lantin

L
Découvrez ce qu’était la vie de la garnison du fort de Lantin à travers un parcours-spectacle inédit ou une nuit insolite dans une chambre de troupe authentique. Le seul fort de la ceinture fortifiée de Liège à n’avoir subi aucune modification depuis 1914.

Un lieu historiquement remarquable, une visite surprenante avec possibilité de dormir sur place

Une des coupoles du fort de Lantin.
© Province de Liège

Situé à sept kilomètres au nord-ouest du centre-ville de Liège, le Fort de Lantin est l’un des plus petits forts de la ceinture fortifiée liégeoise.

Bâti à la fin du 19e siècle sous les ordres du général belge Brialmont, son patrimoine historique et culturel est remarquable. D’ailleurs contrairement à ce qui se faisait en France à l’époque, il est entièrement construit en béton (non armé), un matériau très peu utilisé.

Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, le Fort de Lantin fut l’un des derniers de sa position à tomber sous les bombardements allemands le 15 août 1914.

Par la suite, le fort ne subit aucun travaux. L’architecture militaire du 19e siècle reste intacte, ce qui a ainsi permis d’approfondir les connaissances sur l’archéologie sur cette époque.

Reconstitution au fort de Lantin.
© Province de Liège

« Les Amis du fort de Lantin »

L'allée du fort de Lantin.
© Province de Liège

Converti en terrain de manoeuvres et stand de tir au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il est ensuite laissé à l’abandon. En 1983, il est acquis et restauré par l’ASBL Les Amis du fort de Lantin, qui y ont instauré un système de visite avec audioguide en quatre langues. Si vous le souhaitez, il est également possible de bénéficier d’une visite personnalisée avec un guide bénévole.

L’association du fort a restauré et aménagé deux chambres de troupe où logeaient les soldats en 1914. Ainsi, les visiteurs les plus audacieux peuvent passer une nuit insolite dans les conditions de vie de la garnison à l’époque.

Pour les plus curieux, le Fort de Lantin abrite le musée de la téléphonie. Il retrace toute l’histoire des moyens de communication à travers les âges. De la reconstitution de la première liaison téléphonique jusqu’à la téléphonie actuelle, on y trouve notamment la dernière horloge parlante de Belgique! Il est également possible de combiner la visite du Fort de Lantin avec celle du Fort de Loncin. Un complément incontournable à ne pas manquer!

Quelques itinéraires touristiques en lien avec ce site

A la découverte d'autres sujets

Informations pratiques

Adresse
Rue de Villers, 1
4450 Uprelle
Pays Belgique
Téléphone 00 32 (0)4 246 55 44
Retour à tous les sites